Tougaloo selected January 2018 School of the Month by the Tom Joyner Foundation

The Tom Joyner Foundation (TJF) has selected Tougaloo College as the January 2018 School of the Month.  As a result of this special designation, 20 Tougaloo students will be awarded scholarships. These scholars must exhibit academic excellence, leadership skills and community service.


Carlos D. Smith, Tougaloo College National Alumni Association President and newly appointed Board of Trustee member, remarks on the importance of this prestigious honor. “This is a tremendous honor for Tougaloo College! Any opportunity for the College to be promoted is counted as a “plus”. Scholarship dollars are few and competitive. This is even more magnified at small, private colleges: and when you add “historically black” to that equation, the dollars really become obscure.”

“I recall the appreciative faces of students who felt dejected and rejected because they just could not find all the funds needed; then, a small $500 or $1000 scholarship would be made available. These scholarships allow deserving students to continue their education. Many students have benefited from the scholarships offered at Tougaloo College and current and future students are also deserving of that benefit through the generosity of our friends. With such support, Tougaloo College can continue offering education to those who otherwise may not have an opportunity and to those who want the luxury of attending a special place like Tougaloo College,” adds Smith.  Courtesy of

Please help our deserving students become successful, along their educational pathways to become future scholars and leaders, by taking part in the following:

1) Over the next several weeks in January, the Tom Joyner Foundation (TJF) team and Tougaloo College will share information via email and social media. Please share posts on personal social media accounts.

2) Make a Mobile Pledge to donate to Tougaloo College by texting the words eaglequeen to the number 71777.

3) Donate online by visiting and selecting “Joyner School of the Month” in the dropdown.
or Remember to select TOUGALOO.

4). Mail in a donation to:

Tougaloo College
Office of Institutional Advancement
500 West County Line Road
Tougaloo, MS 39174.

Donations can also be mailed to:

The Tom Joyner Foundation
RE: Tougaloo College
P. O. Box 630495
Irving, TX 75063-0495

Recent Chapter Activities: NYTAC members represented Tougaloo College at the 19th Malcolm Bernard HBCU College Fair held at the Riverbank State Park (11/11/17).  The event was co-sponsored by the New York Urban League and attended by approximately 2000 NYC and area high school student and parents.  Other venues for the college fair included: Mercer County Community College in West Windsor, NJ(11/12/17), Camden, NJ(11/14/17), Philadelphia, PA(11/15/17), Raritan Valley Community College in Branchburg, NJ(11/16/17) and Essex County College in Newark, NJ(11/17/17).


2017 TCNAA Hall of Fame Member

Our very own Frank Williams, Jr. was inducted into the Tougaloo College National Alumni Association Hall of Fame on October 11, 2017 in the category of Community Service(see Frank's bio). The Greater New York Tougaloo Alumni Chapter, the entire White Plains Youth Bureau family and the city of White Plains applaud your accomplishments and your induction into this prestigious hall of fame.
On behalf of Frank; thanks to all who supported his induction by taking out ads in the souvenir journal, made a donations in his honor and/or attended the induction ceremony.
Below are some images from the event, more will be available at in the near future.

NYTAC Vice President Courtni Newsome was recently recognized as an inaugural Tougaloo College 40 under 40 honoree. Congratulations Courtni! Go to “Alumni News” to see additional photo along with her profile.